Madras High Court Bailiff and Examiner Syllabus

The Madras High Court has released the official syllabus and exam pattern for various posts like Bailiff, Examiner, Reader, etc. under the Subordinate Judicial Service. The written exam comprises 2 sections - Tamil Eligibility Test and General Studies, Aptitude & Mental Ability Test.

Exam Pattern

The exam has 2 sections:

  • Part A: Tamil Eligibility Test (50 marks)
  • Part B: General Studies, Aptitude & Mental Ability (100 marks)

The duration is 2.5 hours. Part B is evaluated only if the candidate secures minimum qualifying marks in Part A. Final selection will be based on combined scores.

Part A Syllabus - Tamil Test

This section tests Tamil language skills upto SSLC level as per state board curriculum. It is mandatory to score minimum 20 marks to qualify for evaluation of Part B.

Part B Syllabus - General Studies and Aptitude

This section covers topics like Current Affairs, Science, History, Polity, Reasoning, Puzzles, Numerical Ability, etc. A minimum of 40 marks is required to be shortlisted.

Section Major Topics
Current Affairs Recent developments, events, etc.
History & Culture Key events, personalities, etc.
Polity & Governance Civics, constitution, etc.

The table summarizes some major syllabus areas. The complete syllabus is available on the MHC website.

Selection Process

Based on written exam scores, shortlisted candidates in 1:2 ratio will be called for document verification as per reservation rules. Final selection list will be released later.

Preparation Tips

Some useful preparation tips include:

  • Thoroughly analyze syllabus and exam pattern
  • Prepare a structured study plan
  • Practice previous year papers
  • Work on speed and accuracy

Following the right strategies and tips can greatly enhance exam preparation.


The Madras HC syllabus clearly defines the topics and subjects that candidates will be tested on through the written exam for selection to various posts like Bailiff, Examiner, etc. Understanding the pattern and syllabus will help structure a strategic preparation plan.


Q1: How many sections are there in the MHC exam?

A1: The MHC written exam comprises 2 sections - Part A is Tamil Eligibility Test and Part B is General Studies, Aptitude & Mental Ability Test.

Q2: What is the syllabus for Part B?

A2: Part B syllabus covers Current Affairs, Science, History, Civics, Reasoning, Puzzles, Numerical Ability, and related topics.

Q3: How much is the duration of the exam?

A3: The total duration of the MHC written exam is 2 hours 30 minutes.

Q4: How are candidates shortlisted?

A4: Based on written exam scores, shortlisting is done in 1:2 ratio following reservation rules.

Q5: Where is the complete syllabus available?

A5: The detailed MHC syllabus is provided on the official MHC website.

Q6: Is there a Tamil language test?

A6: Yes, Part A comprising 50 marks tests Tamil language skills as per the prescribed syllabus.


Sarkari Awaaz | Sarkari Job | Sarkari Result