NMMS Scholarship

The NMMS (National Means cum Merit Scholarship) Scholarship is launched by the Department of School Education and Literacy under the Ministry of Human Resource Development. It is a financial incentive awarded to meritorious students from economically weaker sections to prevent dropout in Class 8 due to financial reasons. Students receive Rs 12,000 per annum from Class 9 to 12.


The main objective is to reduce the dropout rate after Class 8 by providing financial assistance of Rs 12,000 per year so students can continue their education.


  • Rs 12,000 scholarship per year for Classes 9-12
  • Covers education costs to prevent dropouts of financially weaker students
  • Motivates students to pursue secondary education

Around 1 lakh scholarships are disbursed annually through SBI to beneficiaries' accounts using the public financial management system.

Eligibility Criteria

Students must:

  • Belong to economically weaker sections
  • Qualify state-level exam with at least 40% in mental ability and scholastic aptitude tests
  • Enroll in Classes 7 or 8

The number of scholarships differs across states based on Class 7/8 enrollment and population.

Application Process

Key details:

  • Each state conducts selection exam as per NCERT guidelines
  • Exam includes 90 minute mental ability and scholastic aptitude tests
  • Extra time given to specially-abled students
  • State declares list of qualified students
  • Final selection considers income, enrollment, and population criteria
Test Duration Pass Marks
Mental Ability 90 minutes 40%
Scholastic Aptitude 90 minutes 40%

Contact Information

For any issues, contact:

  • Email ID:
  • Helpline Number:


The NMMS Scholarship aims to prevent school dropouts among financially weaker students after Class 8 by providing them with annual financial assistance. It motivates students to continue secondary education.


Q1: Who is eligible for the NMMS scholarship?

A1: Students belonging to economically weaker sections who qualify the state-level exam with minimum 40% marks in Class 7 or 8 are eligible.

Q2: How much scholarship amount is provided?

A2: Selected students receive Rs 12,000 yearly scholarship from Classes 9 to 12, amounting to Rs 1000 monthly.

Q3: How are scholarships allocated to states?

A3: The NMMS scholarship allocation differs across states annually based on enrollment in Classes 7 and 8 and the population.

Q4: What is the selection process?

A4: Each state conducts a 90 minute exam with mental ability and scholastic aptitude test components. Students need 40% marks to qualify.

Q5: How is the scholarship amount disbursed?

A5: Around 1 lakh scholarships are disbursed yearly by SBI directly into beneficiary bank accounts via the public financial management system.

Q6: Whom can I contact for queries?

A6: Email at [] or call the scholarship helpline number [] for any NMMS scholarship related queries.


Sarkari Awaaz | Sarkari Job | Sarkari Result