SSC MTS Passing Marks 2023 - Exam Pattern, Qualifying Cutoff, Syllabus

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the Multi Tasking Staff (MTS) exam to recruit candidates for various MTS and Havaldar posts in different ministries and departments of the Government of India. The exam consists of a Computer Based Test (CBT) followed by Physical Efficiency Test (PET) and Physical Standard Test (PST) for final selection.

SSC MTS Recruitment and Selection Process

The SSC MTS recruitment process involves 3 stages:

  1. Computer Based Examination (CBE)
  2. Physical Efficiency Test (PET)
  3. Physical Standard Test (PST)

Based on the CBE performance, candidates are shortlisted for the next rounds of PET and PST. The CBE Merit list is prepared using normalized scores in Session 2 of the CBE.

SSC MTS Exam Pattern

The SSC MTS Computer Based Examination is conducted in 2 sessions of 45 minutes each:

Session Subjects No. of Questions Maximum Marks
Session 1 Numerical Ability, Reasoning Ability 20 each 60
Session 2 General Awareness, English Language 25 each 75

The CBE comprises of Multiple Choice Objective type questions in English, Hindi and 13 regional languages. There is no negative marking in Session 1. Session 2 has 1 mark negative marking for every wrong answer.

SSC MTS Minimum Qualifying Marks

The category-wise SSC MTS & Havaldar minimum qualifying marks in the CBE are:

  • General/UR Candidates: 30%
  • OBC/EWS Candidates: 25%
  • All other categories: 20%

Performance in Session 1 is evaluated first, followed by Session 2 evaluation for those who qualify in Session 1. For MTS posts, final merit list is based solely on Session 2 performance using normalized scores. For Havaldar posts, 1:5 ratio shortlisting for PET/PST is done based on Session 2 scores.

Determination of SSC MTS Final Merit

The SSC determines final merit and cut-off marks for MTS recruitment based on the normalized scores obtained by candidates in Session 2 of the CBE. Normalization of scores is done to account for exam shifts using the formula published in SSC Notice dated 07-02-2019.

Category wise cut-offs may additionally be fixed by the SSC based on Session 2 performance and number of vacancies.


The SSC MTS exam comprises a CBT followed by physical tests for recruitment to Multi Tasking Staff posts. Understanding the exam pattern, qualifying marks, merit determination process will help aspirants prepare better and meet the eligibility criteria.


Q1: How many stages are there in SSC MTS selection process?

A1: The SSC MTS selection process has 3 stages - Computer Based Exam, Physical Efficiency Test and Physical Standard Test.

Q2: What is the SSC MTS exam pattern?

A2: The SSC MTS exam pattern is a Computer Based Test of 2 sessions - Session 1 of Reasoning & Numerical Ability (60 marks) and Session 2 of General Awareness and English Language (75 marks).

Q3: How is the SSC MTS final merit list prepared?

A3: The SSC MTS final merit list is prepared based solely on normalized scores obtained by candidates in Session 2 of the Computer Based Examination.

Q4: What are the qualifying marks for SSC MTS exam?

A4: The SSC MTS minimum qualifying marks are 30% for General, 25% for OBC/EWS and 20% for all other categories.

Q5: Is there negative marking in SSC MTS CBT?

A5: There is no negative marking in Session 1 of SSC MTS exam. Session 2 has negative marking of 1 mark for every wrong answer.

Q6: How are scores normalized in SSC MTS exam?

A6: If SSC MTS exam is conducted in multiple shifts, scores are normalized as per the formula given in SSC Notice dated 07-02-2019 to account for difficulty variance across shifts.


Sarkari Awaaz | Sarkari Job | Sarkari Result